KamerTunesBlog

Revisiting my extensive music collection, one artist at a time

Forty Year Friday (1983) – IRON MAIDEN “PIECE OF MIND”

It’s Forty Year Friday again. For more information on this series, please read the opening paragraph of the first post, which featured Never Surrender by Triumph.

Iron Maiden - Piece Of Mind

Posted on my Facebook page October 31, 2013:

This week’s Thirty-Year Thursday album is “PIECE OF MIND” by IRON MAIDEN. Although they were quickly becoming one of the biggest bands in the world at the time this was released in May 1983, and a handful of my friends were really into them, I ignored them through my high school years & beyond. It wasn’t until a trip to a record store that specialized in used vinyl, sometime in ’97 or ’98, that I decided to give their music a shot. I chose the albums I remember being very popular when I was a teenager, including this one, Killers, The Number Of The Beast and Live After Death. Within a couple of songs into Killers I knew I was going to love these guys, and once I heard the others I got upset with my younger self for ignoring them all those years. They ticked so many of my musical boxes: killer songwriting, stellar musicianship, complex arrangements (appealing to my love of progressive rock) and a vocalist (Bruce Dickinson, who was on all of these albums except Killers) with one of the most powerful voices I’ve ever heard. Within a year I owned all of their albums on CD and made up for lost time.

The first five songs on PIECE OF MIND are nothing short of brilliant, and most metal bands would kill to write that many great songs in a career. “Where Eagles Dare,” “Revelations,” “Flight Of Icarus,” “Die With Your Boots On” and “The Trooper” are powerful & full of melodic hooks and impressive playing from everyone in the band. Producer Martin Birch, who made his name with a bunch of classic ’70s Deep Purple albums, was just as important to the monstrous sound of this record as the musicians. The last 4 songs aren’t quite as strong as the first five, but none of them are filler, with “Still Life” and the lengthy “To Tame A Land” being my favorites of this batch. For me…and probably many fans…this album comes down to the previously-mentioned “The Trooper,” which is as much a definitive statement as anything in their catalog. Happy 30th anniversary to an album I should’ve loved a long time ago. It’s also a perfect album to feature on Halloween, since there are few album covers more frightening than PIECE OF MIND.

I previously wrote about their 1986 album Somewhere In Time in the Thirty Year Thursday series about my favorite releases of that year. I wrapped up that post with the following: “Somewhere In Time is an excellent album that only pales slightly when compared to the greatness that came before it (as well as the masterpiece they would unleash two years later).” So as much as I love that record, my feelings about Piece Of Mind are even stronger, and that appreciation continues to grow each time I play it. I already mentioned singer Bruce Dickinson and producer Martin Birch, but the entire band is explosive, including new arrival Nicko McBrain on drums along with bassist/creative force Steve Harris and the twin guitar attack of Dave Murray & Adrian Smith. As longtime Maiden fans love to say: UP THE IRONS!

24 comments on “Forty Year Friday (1983) – IRON MAIDEN “PIECE OF MIND”

  1. mikeladano
    October 20, 2023

    Ah, To Tame A Land. I should write this up as a Record Store Tale. It was the summer of 2006 and I had a really fun and stress free job working by myself in a noisy mailroom. I was reading Dune at the time, and I was infatuated with it and To Tame A Land all summer. I memorized the lyrics, and I used to sing loudly, over the clank-clanking of the mail machinery. I could occasionally be heard by Accounts Payable, but not too much,

    Like

  2. Bill P
    October 20, 2023

    Rich,
    Really interesting and appropriate that you put this back-to-back with Pyromania. I think both albums were the first ones where the bands truly achieved their classic sound. Even though many love Number of the Beast, I feel it is rawer and still a bit of that earlier NWOBHM/70s style of metal. There are some songs that I pass on. But Piece of Mind has all the bombast and operatic prog songs that would come to follow on the next several releases (Powerslave, Somewhere, and Seventh Son).

    For me, I’d prefer “Flight of Icarus” over “The Trooper”, without taking away anything from the latter song. Maybe I was reading mythology in school and just enjoyed the subject matter more? But, do we really need to choose? Both songs are fantastic! For the latter half of Side B, I always liked “Sun and Steel.” But like Pyromania, I could listen to this whole album without feeling too much need to skip a song.

    I think more than any band, I appreciated the wide range of influences on Iron Maiden’s lyrics with Bruce Dickinson. They exposed me to interesting pieces of history and culture…certainly a welcome change from a lot of the vapid dross that came with other more mainstream bands. Maiden was the thinking man’s metal.

    Like

    • Hey Bill. I completely agree with you regarding Number Of The Beast. I do love that album but Piece Of Mind took it up several notches for me. There’s nothing to skip here, even though the second side isn’t quite as ferocious as the first side. The run they went on through at least Seventh Son…is astounding, including one of the all-time greatest live albums, Live After Death. As for their lyrics & subject matter, I’ve definitely learned a few things from them over the years. I think I’ve even gotten a few Coleridge/Rime Of The Ancient Mariner answers while watching Jeopardy thanks to them. By the way, next week’s post will complete a trifecta of this style of music, so stay tuned. Have a great weekend.

      Like

  3. 80smetalman
    October 20, 2023

    Fantastic album, “The Trooper” and “The Flight of Icarus,” those songs are my favourite but the entire album is soo good.

    Like

    • Both of those songs are amazing but, as you said, the whole album is so good. They were truly on fire as a band, and the production of the record makes it so much fun to play.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Daddydinorawk
    October 23, 2023

    I was never sold on the production of this album. Too dry especially Icarus had no energy especially as compared to Live After Death. I know that this is a lot of peoples introduction to Maden as it was coming out just as MTV was blowing up. It was a perfect time for this album but I feel that it hasn’t stood the test of time. Side two seems considerably weaker than the side, one, after Still Life it kind of dies out, and To Tame a Land seems to me to be an epic for epic’s sake. That being said the songs on site one are freaking incredible. And what a better intro to Nicko McBrain‘s tenure, than the drum intro on Eagles. All that said it does set up the perfect template for them to explode on the next album which I think is the true pinnacle of Maiden’s career.

    Like

    • Phillip Helbig
      October 24, 2023

      Maiden’s worst is often better than others’ best. They haven’t made a single bad album. But their biggest strength is consistency. Most bands manage 10 years, 20 if they’re lucky, before they stop making records or stop making good records. Maiden has been going for more than 40 years and their last few albums are up there with the best albums of the days of yore.

      Like

    • I always loved the production of this record, and pretty much everything Martin Birch produced for them. I do agree that later live versions of some of these songs are even more powerful. As for your “epic for epic’s sake” comment, not sure I feel that way about “To Tame A Land,” but it would apply to several epics they’ve released since Bruce rejoined the band in the late ’90s. I’m glad we agree about side 1 of Piece Of Mind, and Nicko’s drumming. All brilliant. Thanks for checking in, and my apologies for the delayed response. I was out of town for a few days.

      Like

  5. Rob Nelson
    November 6, 2023

    There is an “acoustic” version of this album:

    https://maidenunited.bandcamp.com/album/mind-the-acoustic-pieces

    I thought it sounded kind of cool

    The project seems to involve a lot of people:

    http://www.maidenunited.com/musicians.html

    Like

    • Phillip Helbig
      November 6, 2023

      Damian Wilson used to be with them. Probably the best male rock singer, both in terms of technical prowess, feeling, and versatility. He became well known from Les Miserables, and apart from Maiden UniteD has sung with progressive-metal bands, as a duo with Adam Wakeman, and as a solo singer-songwriter with a bar stool and acoustic guitar.

      I saw him last Thursday with a full band, playing a selection of things he has done over the years. He mentioned that he had a concussion (had bumped his head a day or two before). His performance with a concussion was better than most people‘s without. After an hour and a half he said that it was getting worse not better and had to call it off. As I left the venue I saw an ambulance outside.

      Like

    • Phillip Helbig
      November 6, 2023

      They are not all there all the time. The bass player seems to be the main dude and is always there. Others, more or less often. (The bass player also plays in a “straight” Iron Maiden cover band.)

      Like

      • Phillip Helbig
        November 6, 2023

        Now if Maiden themselves would do Empire of the Clouds live.

        Like

    • Rob, thanks for sharing the info about Maiden United and checking them out. I was going to tell you that I was introduced to them courtesy of a gentleman named Phillip Helbig who kindly stops by here from time to time and shares lots of interesting info and stories, but then he commented here in response to your comment. I remember checking them out several years ago when Phillip & I were discussing Iron Maiden’s 1986 album Somewhere In Time, which was part of my Thirty Year Thursday series, and they were a lot of fun.

      Phillip, I wasn’t aware that Maiden hasn’t performed “Empire Of The Clouds” in concert yet. It’s a long song (their longest?), so maybe they’re having trouble figuring out which songs to remove from the set list to make room for it.

      Like

      • Phillip Helbig
        November 8, 2023

        As far as I know they haven’t performed it live. I’m sure that most fans would like to hear it.

        Not at the concert I was at, but on the same tour, there was a real Spinal Tap moment as, during Alexander the Great (not often performed live), Bruce was on the upper stage above Niko and, as usual, bent down to hit the gong (actually a tam-tam my drummer friend tells me), which fell onto Niko.

        Like

      • Phillip Helbig
        November 8, 2023

        Nicko, of course. (I know someone named Niko so that confused me).

        Like

      • Haha, that’s a great story about Maiden’s Spinal Tap-esque moment. It looks like those guys still have a blast playing live. I’m glad Nicko is now cancer-free. He said he’s almost fully recovered. I can’t imagine how hard it is to play like he does when he’s not at 100%. How is your health, Phillip? I hope you’re doing well.

        Like

      • Phillip Helbig
        November 10, 2023

        Health couldn’t be better, thanks!

        Ian Anderson played some concerts in a wheelchair when suffering from DVT. On the other hand, he’s the one rock front man for whom having one leg amputated wouldn’t make that much difference to his stage presence.

        Like

      • I wasn’t aware of Anderson having a DVT. Those things can be deadly so I’m glad he survived. That’s pretty funny about him only needing the one leg. Hopefully it never comes to that.

        Like

      • Thanks Phillip. That was very interesting. My wife is a nurse so I’ve learned about the risks of DVTs, and I always take an aspirin before a long flight. I didn’t realize that happened to Ian over 20 years ago. I’m glad he’s still alive & kicking.

        Like

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to KamerTunesBlog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 579 other subscribers

Archives