KamerTunesBlog

Revisiting my extensive music collection, one artist at a time

Forty Year Friday (1983) – THE SINGLES (PART 2) / IN CONCLUSION

It’s Forty Year Friday again. For more information on this series, please read the opening paragraph of the first post, which featured Never Surrender by Triumph.

After spending 11-1/2 months in 2013 discussing my favorite albums of 1983 each week on Facebook, on Dec. 19, 1983 I wrote a series of brief posts covering the singles I loved that year. After sharing the first seven records last week, here are the final six.

The Motels - Suddenly Last SummerThirty-Year Thursday Single #8: “SUDDENLY LAST SUMMER” by THE MOTELS, from their 1983 album Little Robbers. I wasn’t much of a Motels fan at the time but I kinda liked this song. I probably came around to their music after vocalist Martha Davis sang with The Tubes on their cover of “The Monkey Time” (on one of the albums I featured earlier this year). There’s something really interesting & unique about her voice, and eventually I became enough of a fan to get most of their albums. This song is hard to describe. It’s not a ballad but it’s also not a rocker. It’s upbeat & mellow at the same time. In fact, it’s a little hypnotic, which is more than I can say for the video. 

The Romantics - Talking In Your SleepThirty-Year Thursday Single #9: “TALKING IN YOUR SLEEP” by THE ROMANTICS, from their album In Heat (which I don’t own…I only have a best-of CD). This is still an amazing power-pop song, with the emphasis on “power,” and I love those echo-y vocals. What a great groove and perfectly over-the-top ’80s production. The Romantics will always be special to me, as they were the first band I ever saw in concert (they opened up for Cheap Trick at Madison Square Garden). At the time their debut album had just been released, featuring the now-classic “What I Like About You,” but I think “Talking In Your Sleep” is the pinnacle of their career…at least based on what I’ve heard by them. As for the video, they look like zombie hairdressers. I’m sure that was intentional, right? 

Joe Jackson - MemphisThirty-Year Thursday Single #10: “MEMPHIS” by JOE JACKSON. One of my all-time musical heroes didn’t have a new studio album in ’83, but he did release the soundtrack to Mike’s Murder (which I still proudly own on vinyl) that included this gem, which sounds like a cross between Booker T. & The MG’s and the Peter Gunn theme. It often gets overlooked in his catalog full of amazing songs, even by me, but I immediately get in a better mood anytime I hear it…like right now as I type this. Hard to believe this is 30 years old already.

Paul Simon - AllergiesThirty-Year Thursday Single #11: “ALLERGIES” by PAUL SIMON, from his album Hearts & Bones (a very underrated record…see my blog series on his catalog for more info). I didn’t know the album back in ’83 but I loved this song. I think it was jazz great Al DiMeola’s brilliant guitar work that won me over, but it’s a cool song even without his contributions. It holds up for me all these years later. 

Eurythmics - Here Comes The Rain AgainThirty-Year Thursday Single #12: “HERE COMES THE RAIN AGAIN” by EURYTHMICS, from their second album of 1983, Touch. Although I didn’t really like or dislike them when they broke through with “Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This),” I couldn’t resist this stunning blend of synths & orchestration along with the amazing voice of Annie Lennox (who gets bonus points just for being Scottish). The video is simply stunning, which is unsurprising considering they were one of the most visually distinct groups of that era. I’m so glad this song (and video) has held up so well after 30 years. 

Billy Idol - Eyes Without A FaceThirty-Year Thursday Single #13: “EYES WITHOUT A FACE” by BILLY IDOL. I’ve never been much of a Billy Idol fan but I do like several of his songs. He’s a rare artist in that I don’t own any of his albums or even a best-of, although I do have a compilation of his earlier band Generation X, which is excellent. The only recording of his that I own is this single, and it’s a great one. I still remember the first time I heard it on the radio. The DJ liked it so much he played it twice in succession. This is the kind of song that could have only been made, and become a hit, in the ’80s. Love the cool drum programming blended with Steve Stevens’ biting guitar work. The video is cheesy but still pretty great. Also, it’s one of the best uses of French in a pop song. Even if the rest of his recorded output was awful (which it isn’t), he gets a lifetime pass just for this record and his appearance in The Wedding Singer. I’m happy to wrap up my Thirty-Year Thursday series on the music of 1983 with this song. [Update: I subsequently bought a copy of his 2001 Greatest Hits CD and realized how many of his songs I love, so I’m a bigger Billy Idol fan than I previously thought]

This series was a fun way to spend 2023, since 1983 remains one of my all-time favorite years of music. I’ll leave you with a list of all the albums I wrote about. How many of these releases do you like? Please let me know if you have any favorites from that year which weren’t included here.

Triumph – Never Surrender
Eric Clapton – Money And Cigarettes
U2 – War
Spandau Ballet – True
The Tubes – Outside Inside
Pink Floyd – The Final Cut
Zebra – Zebra
R.E.M. – Murmur
Men At Work – Cargo
Pete Townshend – Scoop
David Bowie – Let’s Dance
The Fixx – Reach The Beach
ZZ Top – Eliminator
Marshall Crenshaw – Field Day
Talking Heads – Speaking In Tongues
The Alarm – The Alarm (EP)
The Police – Synchronicity
The Kinks – State Of Confusion
Stevie Ray Vaughan And Double Trouble – Texas Flood
Elton John – Too Low For Zero
Robert Plant – The Principle Of Moments
Asia – Alpha
Billy Joel – An Innocent Man
The Moody Blues – The Present
Huey Lewis And The News – Sports
Genesis – Genesis (The ‘Mama’ Album)
Hall & Oates – Rock ‘N Soul Part 1 (Greatest Hits)
Bob Dylan – Infidels
Rolling Stones – Undercover
Culture Club – Colour By Numbers
Yes – 90125
U2 – Live – Under A Blood Red Sky (EP)
Marillion – Script For A Jester’s Tear
Richard Thompson – Hand Of Kindness
John Cougar Mellencamp – Uh-Huh
Tom Waits – Swordfishtrombones
Def Leppard – Pyromania
Iron Maiden – Piece Of Mind
Dio – Holy Diver
Madness – Madness
Jackson Browne – Lawyers In Love
Graham Parker – The Real Macaw
Elvis Costello And The Attractions – Punch The Clock
Big Country – The Crossing

Enjoy the holiday season and happy New Year. I’ll be back sometime in 2024.

12 comments on “Forty Year Friday (1983) – THE SINGLES (PART 2) / IN CONCLUSION

  1. christiansmusicmusings
    December 15, 2023

    Great picks, Rich! Off Paul Simon’s “Hearts and Bones,” I love “Train in the Distance,” though it seems it wasn’t released as a single. I think my favorite singles from your picks is “Talking in Your Sleep” by The Romantics – catchy song with a great guitar sound!

    “Synchronicity” (The Police), “Texas Flood” (Stevie Ray Vaughan And Double Trouble), “Too Low For Zero” (Elton John), “Under A Blood Red Sky” (U2), “90125” (Yes) and “Uh-Huh” (John Cougar Mellencamp) are among the listed albums I like to go back to.

    While I often express my preference for the ’60s and ’70s over other decades, your series reminded me that 1983 was a pretty good year in music.

    Like

    • Hey Christian. I’m glad you’re also a fan of these songs. I agree that Paul Simon’s “Train In The Distance” is an excellent tune, and there are several more gems on that album beyond the amazing “Allergies.” Not sure if I have a favorite among the six songs featured here, but ’80s power pop doesn’t get much better than “Talking In Your Sleep.”

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Bill P.
    December 15, 2023

    More great picks, Rich. These ones definitely a little more on the popier side in contrast to the rock of last week. I enjoy Martha Davis’ voice and could probably listen to her sing the phone book. Great tone and depth of emotion. Also, you were spot on with your part Peter Gunn-part Booker T. observation for “Memphis.” Such a diverse artist who could mix pop, new wave, soul, jazz, etc into one coherent body of work. Probably gave the record companies fits not knowing how to market him, though.

    Like Christian above, “Talking in your Sleep” is the star for me. Too bad their career was sidetracked by a lawsuit against their manager. Another single from this album, “One in a Million,” is worth a listen. Super power pop. They need to go on tour with the Stray Cats.

    If you love Scotland, you should know that seastack monolith in the beginning of the Eurythmics video is called the Old Man of Hoy and it sits on the west coast of the Orkney Islands. The ferry to Stromness goes right past it. Beautiful country!

    As for which albums were my favorites, it is well over half. Too many to list individually! Happy holidays yourself sir and we’ll see you in the new year.

    Like

    • Hi Bill. I hadn’t considered the rock/pop split between these two posts but I think you’re right that this one leans more on the “pop” side of the fence. It’s funny that I initially didn’t like Martha Davis’ voice but eventually came to love it. She has such a unique sound, and The Motels were an underappreciated group of musicians. Yep, “One In A Million” is another great song by The Romantics. It’s on the compilation CD I have, which is probably all I need from that band…unless someone wants to convince me otherwise.

      Thanks for that info about The Old Man Of Hoy. I’ve been to Scotland several times but never went as far north as the Orkney Islands. The next time I’m there I will do what I can to make that trek.

      I appreciate all your feedback throughout this series. It’s been fun chatting with you. Enjoy the holidays, whichever one(s) you celebrate, and have a great New Year.

      Like

  3. stephen1001
    December 17, 2023

    Well said about the amazingness of Annie’s voice, Rich (and I smiled at the awarding of Scottish heritage bonus points!)

    You covered most of my 1983 favourites in your list, I’d add Cyndi Lauper / Hanoi Rocks / Echo & The Bunnymen’s efforts from that calendar year as solid album selections

    Like

    • Hey Geoff. Although I don’t know much about Hanoi Rocks, and I never got into that Cyndi Lauper album (even though I heard it dozens of times since I worked my first record store job when it was released), that’s a good call on Echo & The Bunnymen. They were originally a Compilation Or Catalog? artist for me, and thanks to lost of positive feedback I eventually got their first five albums which are all fantastic. Thanks for the reminder.

      Like

  4. Aphoristical
    December 17, 2023

    Allergies is pretty cool, I didn’t realize it was a single. It never really makes it onto compilations, so it’s a bit overlooked.

    Like

  5. Alyson
    December 27, 2023

    I’ve just dropped by to see where you’d got to with your 1983 retrospective and I see you’re all done! Sorry I’ve been absent from the comments boxes for half the year but I’ve been pretty unwell and was in hospital for four months. Wrote about it all in my blog last weekend. Home now though and feeling much better and positive about the new year.

    Of the singles above I would pick out the Eurythmics song and Billy Idol’s as my favourites. I always have a soft spot for Annie Lennox as she comes from where I grew up – Aberdeen. As for Billy he was the inspiration for the character Spike in Buffy the Vampire Slayer of which we were great fans in our house.

    Hope you are enjoying holiday season and a Happy New Year for when it comes.

    Like

    • It’s great (as always) to hear from you, Alyson…now more than ever. Sending lots of good wishes to you & your family for a happy & peaceful New Year. I never watched Buffy but I think I’ve seen that character based on Billy Idol. He’s already a character, and one of my favorite parts of The Wedding Singer. The song that Adam Sandler sings to Drew Barrymore in the movie (in front of Billy Idol) was the first dance at my wedding. Nice to know that you & Annie Lennox come from the same part of Scotland. I’ve been to Aberdeen. Lovely place. It’s also the title of a wonderful song by Scottish band Danny Wilson (who I wrote about in my Two And Through post.

      Happy Hogmanay.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Alyson
        January 1, 2024

        Yes, a happy, healthy and hopeful new year to you too Rich.

        Yes Billy’s cameo is one of the best bits of that movie – very funny. As for the song Aberdeen by Danny Wilson it’s one of my favourites and I shared it over at my place in the summer of 2022 after having a brilliant reunion with my old flatmates there. Danny Wilson made some wonderful records but were short-lived as a band.

        Like

      • Not sure how I missed your post on Danny Wilson last year, as they continue to be an all-time favorite artist even with only 2 albums, but I just checked it out. Well done, as always. Did you know that Gary Clark co-wrote and sang the theme song for the recent TV show Modern Love (which appeared here on Amazon Prime Video)? He also released one solo album after Danny Wilson disbanded, and created a one-off band called King L. After that he made the financially smart decision to write hits for other artists, as you noted in your post, but I wish he recorded more of his own material. Oh, and there’s also the lovely song “Hope Prayer & Time” he wrote, which Julia Fordham recorded in 1994. Wow, that’s 30 years ago.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to KamerTunesBlog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 579 other subscribers

Archives