KamerTunesBlog

Revisiting my extensive music collection, one artist at a time

Forty Year Friday (1983) – DIO “HOLY DIVER”

It’s Forty Year Friday again. For more information on this series, please read the opening paragraph of the first post, which featured Never Surrender by Triumph.

Dio - Holy Diver

Posted on my Facebook page November 7, 2013:

This week’s Thirty-Year Thursday album is “HOLY DIVER” by DIO, which was released in May 1983. Like the last couple of albums in this series (Def Leppard’s “Pyromania” and Iron Maiden’s “Piece Of Mind”), I wasn’t a fan when it was released, only giving it a shot when my musical tastes came around to heavier music again in the mid- to late-’90s. There’s no doubt that the early-’80s were a great period for hard rock & heavy metal, and “Holy Diver” is up there with the best of them. It’s the debut album from the band fronted by former Elf/Rainbow/Black Sabbath singer Ronnie James Dio (R.I.P.) along with drummer (and former Black Sabbath bandmate) Vinny Appice, bassist/keyboardist (and former Rainbow bandmate) Jimmy Bain, and relative newcomer/future Def Leppard guitarist Vivian Campbell. Lyrically, Dio can be a bit cartoonish, with all the sword-and-sorcery themes, but I consider that a good thing since they sound like no one else of their era and they were clearly having fun.

There’s not a weak song on the album, with Dio’s impressive vocals leading the way and Campbell shredding away but always remaining melodic. Highlights include the anthemic “Stand Up & Shout,” the chugging epic “Holy Diver,” the keyboard-heavy pop-metal of “Rainbow In The Dark,” the driving, almost AC/DC-esque “Gypsy” and the slow-building “Don’t Talk To Strangers.” The only other Dio title I own is the cleverly-titled career-spanning compilation called “The Very Beast Of Dio” which has a lot of excellent music recorded during the subsequent decade. Based on various reviews I’ve read, “Holy Diver” is still considered the pinnacle of his “solo” career (I put solo in quotes because Dio is technically a band), but even if he/they never topped it, that’s understandable because it’s such a strong debut. Does anyone know if other Dio albums are worth seeking out, or should that compilation be sufficient? Anyway, happy 30th anniversary to HOLY DIVER. Here’s the typically ridiculous original video for the title track. Enjoy the silliness…and the kick-ass music.

I already discussed Dio’s “awe-inspiring” vocals in Parts 4, 6 & 7 of my series on the Black Sabbath discography in 2012. After making a name for himself with Ritchie Blackmore’s Rainbow, he fronted Black Sabbath in the early ’80s for two fantastic albums before launching his solo career with Holy Diver, and later found time to rejoin Sabbath twice, in 1992 and 2008 (when they called themselves Heaven & Hell). No matter who he played with, and no matter how old he was (Dio was already over 40 when he recorded Holy Diver), his one-of-a-kind voice remained an amazingly powerful force, and his death in 2010 left a huge void in the world of hard rock & heavy metal.

9 comments on “Forty Year Friday (1983) – DIO “HOLY DIVER”

  1. deKE
    October 27, 2023

    An all time classic. What a band DIO put together for those first three studio records.

    Like

  2. Bill P
    October 27, 2023

    After last week’s comment, was very much looking forward to what was in store today. As I’ve mentioned in previous comments, I was a child of MTV so I fondly remember watching the video to “Rainbow in the Dark.” Those early 80s videos often had nothing to do with the lyrical content of the song, but were sometimes zany, sometimes clever, sometimes none of the above. They were like little B-movies. That guy sitting in the park holding his briefcase and in a trenchcoat could have been waiting to meet a spy to divulge information. But no, intersperse imapges of a lingerie shop and burlesque clubs with “cuts” of meat in a butcher’s window (pun intended) and who knows whats going on?!

    As you said, I think they were having fun. What a great shooting location for the “Holy Diver” video too! I never thought of it then, but just assumed there were these half-ruined churches all over Europe. Guess this one had recently burned. Much of the sword-and-sorcery had to have been a carry-over from his work with Rainbow, but I think he was the principal lyricist there so that could all be coming from him and not Blackmore. I also own “Last in Line” but none of the later stuff or the compilation. Do you recommend any of those other songs or that comp?

    Like

    • Hey Bill. Even though I didn’t get MTV until my senior year of college (’87-’88), I made sure to check out every video on Friday Night Videos through the mid-’80s, no matter the artist or genre, and I remember seeing the “Holy Diver” video and loving it. I had no idea about the shooting location, so thanks for that piece of info. I recently played the “Very Beast Of Dio” compilation and it’s fantastic. That’s my only other exposure to the Dio catalog so I can’t comment on any of his/their individual albums, but I highly recommend the comp.

      Like

  3. 80smetalman
    October 27, 2023

    No argument from me how iconic this album is. Well done for giving it the love it deserves.

    Like

  4. christiansmusicmusings
    October 27, 2023

    While this music is heavier than I what usually listen to I agree it’s pretty melodic, which makes it accessible, even if you’re not a heavy metal fan. But to me the key strength is Ronnie James Dio’s massive voice. I dig Rainbow’s “Long Live Rock ‘n’ Roll” album, and it’s largely because of Dio’s mighty vocals.

    Like

    • Christian, I’m glad you enjoyed these tunes, which are very accessible even for people who don’t love hard rock & metal. Your description of his voice as “massive” is spot-on. What an instrument he was born with. Those first three Rainbow albums are awesome, and Long Live Rock ‘N’ Roll may be my favorite.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to KamerTunesBlog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 579 other subscribers

Archives