KamerTunesBlog

Revisiting my extensive music collection, one artist at a time

Forty Year Friday (1983) – HUEY LEWIS AND THE NEWS “SPORTS”

It’s Forty Year Friday again. For more information on this series, please read the opening paragraph of the first post, which featured Never Surrender by Triumph.

Huey Lewis And The News - Sports

Posted on my Facebook page July 18, 2013:

This week’s Thirty-Year Thursday album is “SPORTS” by HUEY LEWIS AND THE NEWS, which was released in September 1983. Of all the albums I’ve featured in this series, this one has gotten the most exposure lately due to the recent 30th Anniversary expanded CD (which didn’t include anything worthwhile, so I’m sticking with my original copy). I was probably vaguely familiar with them before SPORTS was released, due to the hits “Workin’ For A Livin'” and “Do You Believe In Love” from their previous album, but it was the first time I heard the song “Heart And Soul” that I took serious notice. I loved the percussion (Bill Gibson is a very underrated drummer) and everything about the record made me smile. Once I heard “I Want A New Drug” (which was a staple of my college band’s set list) I knew I had to get the album, and I was not disappointed. Any album that includes “The Heart Of Rock & Roll,” “Bad Is Bad,” “Finally Found A Home,” a Hank Williams cover (“Honky Tonk Blues”) and the exquisitely melodic “If This Is It” was sure to be a keeper, and this one has stood the test of time even though it’s clearly a product of the ’80s. It’s never been “cool” to be a Huey Lewis fan, but I’ve proudly waved the flag for this unfairly maligned group of talented musicians/songwriters/singers. Happy 30th birthday, SPORTS (which is one of numerous great albums they’ve released). Here’s “Heart And Soul,” which still sounds so good all these years later.

My love for Huey Lewis And The News, and this album, remains as strong today as it was four decades ago. Sports is their biggest selling & most popular album but, to my ears, every album is essential. I already discussed the greatness of their next album, Fore, in the Thirty Year Thursday series about my favorite releases of 1986. I also highlighted their eponymous 1980 debut in my Satur-debut series. I can’t say enough good things about this group, but obviously I’m always happy to heap praise on them. I hope this post finds other like-minded fans.

18 comments on “Forty Year Friday (1983) – HUEY LEWIS AND THE NEWS “SPORTS”

  1. Bill Van Orden
    July 21, 2023

    ….If I could just have given Huey Lewis’ naysayers TICKETS to actually see the band PLAY, they would shut the hell up and just finally realize what a fantastically gifted and tight band Huey HAS. You are always in for a fine set of bar band antics, and VERY fine musicianship all around. I’ve followed Huey from his days in the band CLOVER, over to THE NEWS….I’m sorry that he has his health issues, or else I’d still see him any time he would want to tour. I know that it can’t happen, but I sure would’ve liked to see what Huey, Stevie Ray Vaughn, and Darrius Rucker could’ve belted out on a stage….maybe even throw in Harlis Sweetwater in the mix….I’m rambling…. Bar band blues brought to the top 40 masses on purpose. Huey and his band are a legitimate deal. Well worth anyone’s bent ear utilizing decent speakers…. or on stage with good acoustics, because you’d WANT to take in all of the talent and charm.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bill, I agree with just about every word you said. We’re obviously on the same wavelength when it comes to HLN. The only thing I don’t agree with is the “bar band” tag which often accompanies them. I know you don’t consider it a putdown but to a lot of people it is. Show me any bar band that can write songs like that and sing those killer harmonies. Again, I know you agree. It’s a damn shame about Huey’s hearing loss. They were still delivering the goods after 40+ years and in a just world they would do it for another 40. I never considered linking Huey, SRV and Darius Rucker. Interesting to think about. Did you know that Huey had connections with Phil Lynott & Thin Lizzy, as well as the guys in Rockpile? Musicians know how great Huey is on the harmonica, in addition to being a one-of-a-kind singer.

      Like

      • Bill Van Orden
        July 24, 2023

        Absolutely NO disrespect meant with the “bar band” comment…. music is in the family blood, and I truly appreciate it when anyone brings their A GAME to the table even at smaller clubs….Huey and The News ALWAYS did that, and they always showed that they were having fun at work. —Man…I would love to hear what a new ROCKPILE album would be like, and who would be in the lineup. Nick Lowe is touring with Los Straightjackets at the moment. God…I really enjoyed a ton of music from The 80’s… New Wave, and stuff that wouldn’t jive on MTV, etc…SO MUCH EAR CANDY.

        Like

      • Sorry if my reply made it seem like I thought you were showing HLN disrespect, which I know couldn’t be farther from the truth. You know how great these guys are. As for Rockpile, I’ve been watching various YouTube videos of them, both live recordings and a great documentary of them in the studio in 1979 called “Born Fighters” which I highly recommend. Huey Lewis shows up in the studio, as well as Graham Parker, Phil Lynott, Albert Lee and several others, although Huey’s appearance is just in the background. I suppose Rockpile Mach II could have been Little Village, the group formed for John Hiatt’s “Bring The Family” album that also included Nick Lowe, Ry Cooder and Jim Keltner. A completelyl different sound from Rockpile but no less brilliant.

        Like

  2. Bill P
    July 21, 2023

    What a great record chock full of hits! That said, because so many of the singles are so well known and played, I’ve found myself gravitating towards “Walking on a Thin Line” as a favorite. Maybe because it still has the Huey Lewis & The News sound, but less familiar? Like finding an old photo you hadn’t seen in years?

    Just driving my son home this evening and we heard “Heart and Soul” on the radio. He remarked that the vocalist sounded like David Lee Roth. I had never thought about it, but there are some stylistic similarities, especially in the outro when he is shouting “She’s Heart and Soul!” A bit of a raspy shout/scream lyric with a swing beat like DLR always sought.

    Like

    • Hi Bill. I agree with you about “Walking On A Thin Line.” Such a great song with a post-Vietnam War message people probably missed when the record came out (I know I did, but I was only 16 or 17). I never thought of comparing Huey’s voice with DLR. I’ll have to keep that in mind next time I play them. Thanks for checking in. I’m glad you’re also a fan of this record.

      Like

  3. christiansmusicmusings
    July 21, 2023

    I think you hit the nail on the head, Rich. It may not be hip to admit of digging Huey Lewis, but I don’t care! I was very excited when I got my vinyl copy of “Sports” when it came out, which I own to this day.

    Sure, Huey Lewis and the News had a commercial sound, but they had many good songs. And these guys could sing. Anyone who thinks I’m kidding should listen to this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t-hqR1_V44s

    I saw Huey Lewis and the News once in Cologne, Germany in the ’80s and have fond memories of this gig.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glad we’re in agreement on this one, Christian. Nothing wrong with a commercial sound if the songs & musicianship are great. And I’m glad you pointed out their vocal abilities. The a capella song “Naturally” from the album Fore is another example of those killer harmonies.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. 80smetalman
    July 22, 2023

    I think I’ve mentioned this before but I saw Huey Lewis and the News open for 38 Special in 1984 and they impressed me. Having just left the service when this album came out, the track I liked the most was “Walking On a Thin Line.”

    Like

    • I should have mentioned “Walking On A Thin Line” since it IS such a great song. I don’t think I realized what he subject matter was until several years after getting this album. As for the show you saw, I’m guessing .38 Special was pretty great since that was during their commercial peak.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. MichelleMB
    July 22, 2023

    Saw them on the Sports tour with Stevie Ray Vaughan…one of the best shows I’ve ever seen. As well as one of the loudest! More people should hear them live — they’d be surprised!

    Like

    • Hi Michelle. That must have been quite a show, in spite of the loudness. I saw Huey Lewis & The News twice and Stevie Ray Vaughan twice, but not on the same night. On paper it seems like a strange match (not quite as strange as Jimi Hendrix opening for The Monkees) but once you’ve seen HLN in concert you know they are kick-ass musicians who put on a great show.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Rob Nelson
    July 23, 2023

    That’s funny about David Lee Roth – I hadn’t ever thought of it, but I can hear Huey Lewis singing songs on “1984” (that has to show up next year on Rich’s “40 year Friday”)

    I was reading that the “Heart of Rock and Roll” song was originally “… the heart of rock and roll is in Cleveland… ” I kind of like that! (probably a good call to change though)

    They were a solid, talented band and particularly deserved all their success with this album

    Like

    • I still have to wrap my head around the Huey/DLR comparison. Maybe it’ll make sense to me at some point. There won’t be a Forty Year Friday next year. Even though there are a ton of albums I loved in 1984, I don’t think I have the energy (or time) for a weekly series. That’s an interesting tidbit about “The Heart Of Rock & Roll.” Of course, now the pathetic Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame is in Cleveland, so in some ways the actual heart of rock & roll must be many miles away from there.

      Like

  7. Rob Nelson
    July 23, 2023

    Oh no! No 40 year Friday next year! Makes total sense though. I was hoping you’d keep going and eventually we’d reach albums coming out this year (40 years from now!)

    Yeah – a good call to replace “Cleveland” for sure! Just seemed funny

    Like

    • I promise if I’m still alive at the age of 97, and blogging is still a thing, I will write about all my favorite albums from 2023. I’ll add a reminder to my Google calendar. 😀

      Like

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to KamerTunesBlog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 579 other subscribers

Archives